About the Board of Trustees


Meetings of the Board of Trustees and Board Committees are open to the public. See the Board of Trustees calendar for meeting dates, times, and locations.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas will be developed according to our Trustee Meeting Agenda Procedure. Meeting minutes will be available after they have been approved.

About the Board

The Board of Trustees is the governing body for Amherst's public libraries. The board has legal responsibility for the provision of library services, custody of library property, appointment of the library director, expenditure of funds, and determination of library policy. One of the primary functions of a board is to ensure that library services effectively meet community needs.

The Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners has created a handbook that outlines the roles and responsibilities of the Trustees.

Information about the Library budget is available for the public.

Contact Us

Please feel free to contact us with your comments and questions. A message sent to trustees@joneslibrary.org will reach all the Trustees. You may also contact us via U.S. mail at:

c/o Jones Library
43 Amity Street
Amherst, MA 01002


  • Austin Sarat, President
    Term expires: 2026
  • Tamson Ely, Vice President
    Term expires: 2026
  • Robert Pam, Treasurer
    Term expires: 2026
  • Lee Edwards, Vice Treasurer
    Term expires: 2026
  • Eugene Goffredo, Clerk
    Term expires: 2026
  • Farah Ameen
    Term expires: 2026